Conn. cops adopt new false alarm ordinance model

Thursday, October 30, 2008

WEST HARTFORD, Conn.—The Connecticut Police Chiefs Association on Oct. 27 announced here the adoption of a model false alarm ordinance that provides for alarm reduction initiatives, encourages multiple call verification and encourages installation of alarm control panels that meet or exceed ANSI SIA-CP-01 standards for all new installations and panel replacements. The Security Industry Alarm Coalition, a group with members from the NBFAA, CSAA, CANASA, and SIA, was instrumental in working with the CPCA to develop the model ordinance.
East Hampton, Conn. Police Chief Matthew Reimondo, president of the CPCA, said that the false alarm ordinance is going to be an important time saver. “There are several communities out there who have embarked upon implementing this. When we adopted this as the guideline, we wanted to have some type of uniformity. You know, towns and municipalities shouldn’t have to reinvent the wheel,” Chief Reimondo said. “This is a proven element or proven tool that law enforcement has used in other communities, and it’s proven itself over years.” Chief Reimondo praised the model ordinance as a ready-made template that any community could use as a starting point. “We want to make it as simple as possible. Communities will be able to customize the fit for their situation.”
Additionally, the CPCA’s Private Security Committee created a sub committee to present the model ordinance to towns throughout Connecticut as a proactive, ready-made solution to help curtail the false alarm problem.
False alarms are a continuing problem in the industry, and everyone acknowledges they drain resources in the form of police hours wasted in needless responses. Many states nationwide have begun to establish alarm management programs to address false alarms.
Other state associations of police chiefs that have been working toward a model ordinance to tackle the problem include those of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia.