False alarm ordinance watch

SSN Staff  - 
Friday, July 1, 2005

Mesa, Ariz.
A Mesa police subcommittee proposed in a recent meeting that the city require alarm companies to call their customers twice before calling police and to raise fines for repeat police visits, reported the Arizona Republic.
The city's current false alarm standard allows two free false alarm calls before enacting a $50 fee. But the proposal would change that to a $50 fee for the first false alarm that would increase up to $400 for the seventh.
However, if residents attend an alarm awareness class held throughout the year, the first false alarm is waived. According to city officials, more than 600 people have attended the class since 2000 with only 55 waivers used by the participants.

---

Olympia, Wash.
A false alarm ordinance that was slated to go into effect in January in the city became active last month. The ordinance requires residents and businesses with security alarms to register with the city and pay a fee, reported The Olympian.
Under the ordinance, when an officer is called to a false alarm, the owner will be fined. The fines are set at $60 for a false security alarm or $200 for a panic alarm. The owner's registration will be suspended if three or more false alarms occur in a year.
Security companies will now be responsible for registering their customers. The registration is $25 for a private residence and $35 for a business or government office.

---

Texas City, Texas
Texas City police officials recently announced approved changes to the city's alarm systems ordinance. Under the new ordinance, permits for residential burglar and fire alarm systems now cost $5, while business permits will cost $15.
The city will no longer automatically charge for the renewal of an alarm permit. Now, permit holders will be responsible for renewing their permit on or before September 30, of each year, reported The Daily News.
Residential alarm permit holders will be charged $15 if police respond to more than 10 false alarms. While business permit holders will be charged $50 if police respond to more than seven false alarms.