NBFAA honors leaders

SSN Staff  - 
Sunday, May 1, 2005

LAS VEGAS--The National Burglar & Fire Alarm Association honored Cecil Hogan, past president of the NBFAA, with the 2004 Morris F. Weinstock person of the year award in recognition of a lifetime of service to the security industry at an evening event hosted by the NBFAA and the Alarm Industry Research & Educational Foundation on April 5.
Hogan has served in many leadership capacities for the NBFAA, and continues to be involved in industry affairs and activism at the state and national levels.
The NBFAA also honored Mike Miller, NBFAA treasurer with the 2005 Sara E. Jackson award in recognition for his outstanding leadership as a chairperson for the NBFAA. Miller serves as the chairperson on the budget committee and co-chairs the investment committee for the association.
For the first time the NBFAA President's Award was bestowed to a staff member, Merlin Guilbeau, NBFAA executive director at the association's annual award's luncheon during the NBFAA spring conference and chartered state association symposium.
Although the President's Award is usually awarded to a NBFAA volunteer leader, the association felt the award accredits his success as NBFAA executive director.
Since 2002, Guilbeau has helped the association improve its once difficult financial situation. Through his management and leadership, Guilbeau helped rebuild the financial foundation by turning a $350,000 deficit into a positive net income in two years.