Top industry awards handed out at Tri-Association Awards dinner

SSN Staff  - 
Wednesday, December 1, 2004

NEW YORK - Four leaders within the security industry were recognized for their contributions to the security market at the Tri-Association Awards dinner, hosted by the Security Industry Association, National Burglar & Alarm Association and the Central Station Alarm Association, held here on Nov. 4.

Ralph Sevinor, president of Wayne Alarm Systems in Lynn, Mass., was presented with the first ever Tri-Association Award, the Triton Award. The award is given to a person whose actions over a period of time have been instrumental in the professionalism, quality, capabilities and awareness of enhanced security products and services. Sevinor is a member of all three association.

SIA bestowed its George R. Lippert Memorial Award to Marc Mineau, president of Brivo Systems in Bethesda, Md. Mineau has been involved with the security industry for more than a decade, and volunteers on numerous committees. He has served as treasurer, vice president and president of SIA and worked on education and standards programs.

Former CSAA President John Mabry was presented with the Stanley C. Lott Award by the CSAA at the awards dinner. Mabry founded American Alarm Co., which was sold to Honeywell in 1983. For more than 20 years, he served on the board of directors of both the CSAA and NBFAA and was president of both organizations. Mabry is also the founder of the National Training School.

The NBFAA also re-presented George Gunning, chief executive officer of USA Alarm Systems, with its Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year Award in recognition of his lifetime of service to the security industry.