False alarm ordinance watch
Kansas City, Kan.
The Kansas City Police Department is renewing its efforts to reduce false alarms.
According to a report in the Kansas City Star, the department is sending letters to alarm users who had a false alarm and are not registered. That letter informs them of the alarm ordinance and gives them 10 days to apply for a permit. If alarm users donÃ¢â‚¬â„¢t apply for one, they could face a $25 fine.
Under the ordinance, users are allowed to have three false alarms per year. Users who exceed that number face fines.
For residential users, the fine is $50 for each false alarm between four and six alarms; $75 between seven and nine; $100 between 10 and 12; and $125 for 13 or more.
For businesses, the fine is $100 for each false alarm between four and six; $150 between seven and nine; $200 between 10 and 12; and $250 for 13 or more.
The local government has required that all alarm users be registered with the police department since1996. Failure to do so is a misdemeanor that is punishable with a fine of up to $500.
Members of the Guthrie City Council voted recently to establish burglar alarm permits for residents and businesses, as well as a system of penalties for excessive false alarms.
According to a report in The Daily Oklahoman, city officials recommended the change to reduce the time police spend responding to false alarms. The ordinance, which will go into effect in 30 days, requires all businesses and residents to acquire permits for their alarms.
The council is expected to determine the fee before it goes into effect later this month.
Under the new rules, businesses with fewer than 25 employees and residents would be allowed three false alarms per three-month period before their permit would be revoked by the city.
Larger businesses would be allowed six false alarms per three-month period.
The report said that residents and businesses that already have existing alarm systems would be grandfathered in and allowed to get alarm permits free of charge.