NBFAA officers win uncontested election

SSN Staff  - 
Tuesday, June 1, 2004

SILVER SPRING, Md. - The ballots have been counted for the National Burglar & Fire Alarm Association’s annual officer election and all four candidates running uncontested for separate positions can now be called NBFAA officers.

A total of 137 ballots were cast in the election - a small turnout compared to the organization’s 2,400 member companies. Officials at the NBFAA did not have an exact tally on votes received for each candidate by press time.

As a result of the election, Grant Thayer, vice president and general manager of Radar Security Alarm and the current secretary of the NBFAA, will serve the organization as secretary for another two years. Tony Shaddix, the director of technical operations at Brink’s Home Security, will serve as vice president for a one-year term.

Smokey Mountain Systems President Charles D’Ascoli will serve as vice president for two years. Also, George Gunning, the NBFAA 2003 Person of the Year, will repeat his term as vice president. Gunning is chief executive officer of USA Alarm Systems in California.

NBFAA members also approved a bylaw change to move the annual meeting of the organization to ISC East in November from the regular meeting set for October.