Skip to Content

Nominations sought for security industry

Nominations sought for security industry

Face it: You're probably never going to be a member of the select Hollywood group that judges the movies that win Academy Awards. However, you can help choose which movie wins the security industry version of the Oscar. All you have to do is nominate a movie for the 2012 Morpheus Award by Dec. 15 of this year.

I wrote here earlier this year about the 2010 movie “Unstoppable” winning the award, instituted by Moore Protection of Redondo Beach, Calif. According to company president Don Moore, the award “is presented annually to the film that best depicts the realistic use of modern security technology in mainstream media.”

For example, director Tony Scott won for the film “Unstoppable,” starring Denzel Washington and Chris Pine, “for his depiction of the beneficial use of closed circuit surveillance cameras in tracking a runaway train.”

Here's more from a recent news release Moore sent me about the award:

Don Moore … instituted the Morpheus Award in 2010 as a friendly reminder to members of the entertainment community to regularly and personally use their security systems. Mr. Moore said, “It is especially frustrating to me when I hear about a celebrity or industry mogul that was burglarized at a time when their security system was not armed. Show business people often have assistants and household staff to whom they have delegated the task of turning on their alarm system, and this is a dangerous practice. If a crime is committed while the system is disarmed it is the owner, not the assistant, that is put at risk. I encourage all my clients to personally arm and disarm their systems daily and test them at least monthly.”

Eligible films must be feature length (defined as over 40 minutes) and have had a theatrical release between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2011.

The voting deadline is midnight, Dec. 31, 2011. Votes may be submitted to One vote per person, please.

The Morpheus Award will be announced on Friday February 24, 2012 and be presented to the winner personally by Mr. Moore.



To comment on this post, please log in to your account or set up an account now.