Skip to Content

SIA names Lee Odess as 2023 Committee Chair of the Year

SIA names Lee Odess as 2023 Committee Chair of the Year Chair of the SIA Proptech Advisory Board will be honored at The Advance, SIA’s annual membership meeting, at ISC West

Lee Odess

SILVER SPRING, Md.—The Security Industry Association (SIA) has named Lee Odess, CEO of Access Control Executive Brief, as the 2023 recipient of the SIA Committee Chair of the Year Award, which recognizes individuals for excellence in leading SIA committees and advancing member objectives.

SIA will present Odess with the award at The Advance, SIA’s annual membership meeting, which will be held March 28 during ISC West.

In 2022, Odess was instrumental in launching SIA’s Proptech Advisory Board, which is designed to foster engagement between the proptech community and the global security industry through partnerships, education and thought leadership. Odess serves as the group’s chair.

“Being recognized as SIA’s Committee Chair of the Year is an honor. I accept it on behalf of the 80 individuals, their companies and Edison Shen, who have worked tirelessly to get the Proptech Advisory Board off the ground and rolling. We have only gotten started,” Odess said. “I also want to recognize Don Erickson, the SIA Board of Directors, John Mack and Steve Van Till for supporting the effort from idea to execution. It shows SIA’s vision, high level of curiosity and leadership. Thank you all for the trust and opportunity. I do not take it lightly, and it is a great honor. Thank you.” 

Under Odess’ leadership, the SIA Proptech Advisory Board has held a variety of in-person and virtual meetings since its launch in 2022. Additionally, Odess has authored and collaborated on several proptech-related articles for SIA, helped produce a series of practitioner conversations with influential leaders in commercial real estate and led the efforts around SIA’s Proptech Report, a highly regarded resource produced in partnership with CREtech that evaluates proptech trends, market size and buying interests affiliated with security solutions in commercial real estate, including office environments and multifamily housing.

Odess also assisted in kickstarting the Proptech Advisory Board Speaker Series and in developing the “Definition of Proptech” video. He is a prolific thought leader on proptech and has spoken at major SIA and industry events, including ISC West and AcceleRISE.

“SIA is very pleased to recognize Lee Odess for his extraordinary contributions and leadership on the SIA Proptech Advisory Board, which has quickly become one of SIA’s most involved and engaged groups and initiatives,” noted SIA CEO Don Erickson. “The SIA Proptech Advisory Board has developed top-quality educational content, served as a key thought leader in the proptech security space and made meaningful connections across the industry, and we look forward to honoring him for his achievements at The Advance this year.”

Odess is a big believer that security goes beyond your front door and that true access means the enablement of spaces, and throughout his career he has leveraged a number of platforms to help owners and operators adopt the latest technology to provide safe access, deliver innovative resident experiences and future-proof buildings.

To assist businesses in knowing where or how to begin with the sometimes overwhelming nature of modern technologies, Odess provides a monthly Access Control Executive Brief that shares the latest expertise on all things smart locks, physical security and access. Informed by his deep sector knowledge, these briefs are for those looking to spark their curiosity and highlight the best ways to improve efficiency and revenue.

The Advance 2023 will take place on Tuesday, March 28, at 10:30 a.m. in The Venetian Expo during ISC West. At this special membership meeting, attendees will review official association business, meet the new SIA board members, and participate in SIA elections, recognize volunteer achievements from the past year and exchange market intelligence for the year ahead.

In addition to presenting the SIA Committee Chair of the Year Award, SIA will honor the 2023 recipients of the SIA Member of the Year Award, Chair’s Award and Sandy Jones Volunteer of the Year Award. Learn more and register to attend.



To comment on this post, please log in to your account or set up an account now.