Skip to Content

ESA creates and names first winner of Stan Martin Excellence in Advocacy Award

ESA creates and names first winner of Stan Martin Excellence in Advocacy Award

DALLAS—The Electronic Security Association (ESA) has announced the creation and winner of the first Stan Martin Excellence in Advocacy Award, Dr. Shane Clary. This prestigious accolade recognizes individuals who exemplify an extraordinary commitment to advocacy in the electronic security and life safety industry.

Dr. Clary entered the industry 50 years ago and has been with Bay Alarm for the last 40 years. He has been involved with code promulgation for over 30 years, serving on several National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Technical Committees, including NFPA 1, 25, 70, 72, 101 and 5000. Dr. Clary also serves on several UL, IEC and ISO committees as well as being involved with the development of the building and fire codes through the ICC.

Electronic Security Association (ESA)He was recently elected the president of the Automatic Fire Alarm Association, Inc., and is a past president of the California Automatic Fire Alarm Association and past chairman of the Western Burglar & Fire Alarm Association Unilateral Apprenticeship Training Committee. 

Most recently, Shane has become an industry “watchdog” with regards to right to repair legislation, having submitted numerous letters of opposition in multiple states, taking the lead in amending legislation in California so it exempted the life safety industry, and virtually testifying against the Oregon bill.

The award is named after Martin, who began his service with ESA as a volunteer in 1987 when he was asked to reorganize the National Burglar and Fire Alarm Association (NBFAA) state chapter program. In 1989, he received the Sara E. Jackson Memorial Award, presented annually by ESA to a committee chairperson who displays outstanding leadership and in 1990 he was recognized as the Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year, the association’s most prestigious honor.

Since 1994, Martin has led a national effort to reduce unnecessary alarm dispatches, first by leading programs like Model Cities and Model States to develop best practices for law enforcement, and then for the last 20-plus years as the executive director of the Security Industry Alarm Coalition (SIAC). He remains the driving force behind the utilization of industry-best practices like Enhanced Call Verification and the development of codes and standards like ANSI SIAC CP-01 for alarm control panels.


To comment on this post, please log in to your account or set up an account now.