Skip to Content

SIA announces 2022 SIA Women in Security Forum Scholarship winners

SIA announces 2022 SIA Women in Security Forum Scholarship winners Seven honorees to receive scholarships for continuing education, repayment of student loan debt and professional development

SIA Women in Security Forum Scholarship

SILVER SPRING, Md.—The Security Industry Association (SIA) has named seven recipients for the 2022 SIA Women in Security Forum (WISF) Scholarship – a program developed by the SIA WISF to further educational opportunities and promote advancement for the widest spectrum of people possible in the security industry.

In the 2022 scholarship program – open to employees of SIA member companies and SIA student members – each honoree will be awarded $10,000 to use toward continuing education and professional development courses, conferences or webinars, SIA program offerings, repayment of student loan debt and/or other education or academic pursuits.

The winners for the 2022 SIA Women in Security Forum Scholarship are:

  • Kikelomo Adegoke-Ode, network systems engineer, Metro-INET Division, City of Roseville, Minnesota
  • Lily Chen, student, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Tia Eskandari, director of service, Allied Universal Technology Services
  • Sophie Faaborg-Andersen, graduate student, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
  • Sydney Freeman, senior communications specialist, ADT
  • Kathryn Maly, supply chain process engineer, BCD
  • Taylor Scala, student, Lynn University; intern, Axis Communications

“SIA is thrilled to present seven Women in Security Forum scholarships this year and congratulates the 2022 honorees for their accomplishments, vision and commitment to furthering diversity within the security industry,” said SIA CEO Don Erickson. “We are proud to foster a more diverse, equitable and inclusive security industry through efforts like this unique scholarship program and look forward to supporting the honorees’ future successes and empowering them to thrive in their careers.”  

The 2022 SIA Women in Security Forum Scholarship honorees were selected with the help of SIA’s Women in Security Forum Scholarship Subcommittee: chair Martha Entwistle of Eagle Eye Networks; Rebecca Bayne of Bayne Consulting & Search, Inc.; Jim Black of Microsoft Corporation; Dhira Bluestone of PAE National Security Solutions; Lynn de Séve of GSA Schedules, Inc.; Kevin Friedman of Maize Marketing; Margie Gurwin of Content Creation Partners; Angela Hackett of Eagle Eye Networks; Stephanie Mayes of SiteOwl; Elaine Palome of Axis Communications; Kim Rahfaldt of AMAG Technology; Gannon Switzer of Vector Firm; and Rachel Wyatt-Swanson of Convergint Technologies.

“WISF is thrilled to award scholarships to these highly accomplished individuals, chosen from a large and impressive pool of applicants, to pursue their ambitious plans to further their professional development and enrich the security industry,” noted WISF Scholarship Subcommittee Chair Martha Entwistle. “We also want to recognize the scholarship committee members who worked tirelessly to promote the scholarship program and evaluate the record number of applications received in 2022.” 

The SIA Women in Security Forum Scholarship program is made possible by the generous donations of SIA members and SIA member companies that have donated to the 2022 SIA WISF Scholarship program, including:

Diamond Level Donors:

  • Axis Communications
  • Genetec
  • BCD

Emerald Level Donors:

  • Altronix
  • Intel
  • Securitas
  • Security-Net

Ruby Level Donors:

  • Aiphone
  • Brivo
  • Eagle Eye Networks, Inc.
  • Zenitel

Sapphire Level Donors:

  • Arcules
  • Credo Cyber Consulting
  • GSA Schedules, Inc.
  • ProdataKey
  • Sentinel Consulting

To learn more about the SIA Women in Security Forum Scholarship and 2022 awardees, visit the scholarship page.


To comment on this post, please log in to your account or set up an account now.