Skip to Content

ESA Board of Directors approves competency directors, officer positions

ESA Board of Directors approves competency directors, officer positions

DALLAS—Members of the Electronic Security Association (ESA) recently approved several competency director and officer positions. 

After voting for recent director positions concluded on May 24, Chair-elect Kevin Stone recommended two competency directors and requested board approval on June 2. These director positions are selected based on their subject matter expertise and must be an owner, officer, or employee of an ESA member in good standing. Each competency director shall serve for a two-year term beginning July 1, 2024.

Competency director positions

Electronic Security Association (ESA) Kirk MacDowell, the 2023 Weinstock Person of the Year Award winner, is the founder and CEO of MacGuard Security Advisors. Bringing insight from his time at industry innovator, top Fortune 100 manufacturers General Electric and United Technologies, and his own electronic security firm, MacDowell now offers guidance on how to innovate, transform, and compete in today’s ever-changing electronic security landscape.

A sought-after industry speaker, MacDowell also remains active in many associations serving on numerous industry and private company boards. He was the past board of director of the Security Industry Association (SIA) and The Monitoring Association (TMA), past chairman of AIREF (Alarm Industry Research & Education Foundation), past chairman of the Security Industry Alarm Collation (SIAC) and past president of the Los Angeles County Burglar and Fire Alarm Association (LABFAA). MacDowell currently serves as the chairman of ESA’s Leadership Identification and Nominating Committee (LINC).

“I am honored to join ESA’s board of directors as a competency director and proud to serve the industry that has given me so much,” MacDowell said. “Looking forward to working alongside ESA’s elected board and officers.”

Michael Barnes, who recently served as a competency director from 2022-2024 under Chairman John Loud, founded Barnes Associates in 1986 and directs the firm’s mergers and acquisitions activities.

Since founding Barnes Associates, Barnes has been involved in more than 280 security alarm acquisitions and financings, with an aggregate transaction value in excess of $29 billion. He has lectured at numerous events within the security alarm industry on matters relating to acquisitions, the availability of capital and the operating dynamics and performance of alarm companies. Barnes Associates co-sponsors the annual Barnes-Buchanan Conference.

“Overall, I feel honored to once again be invited to serve on ESA’s board,” Barnes said. “The organization does such great work in supporting and advocating for the industry, and the board has a large responsibility for setting direction. I feel the weight of that responsibility and hope I can rise to the occasion.”

In addition to the approval of the competency directors, the board approved three officer positions to serve from July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025.

Integrator Director Jeremy Bates of Bates Security will serve as vice chairman. The vice chairman reports to the chairman and the board of directors, serves as liaison to at least one of the standing committees of the Association, promotes all the objectives of the association, and performs such duties as may be assigned to him or her by the chairman and the board of directors.

Competency Director Michael Barnes will continue in his role as treasurer. The treasurer has general supervision of the fiscal affairs of the association.

Integrator Director Melissa Brinkman of Custom Alarm will serve as secretary to the board. The secretary is responsible for the preparation of accurate minutes of the proceedings at all membership and board meetings.


To comment on this post, please log in to your account or set up an account now.