Skip to Content

TMA now accepting applications for DEI Leadership Award

TMA now accepting applications for DEI Leadership Award

TMA now accepting applications for DEI Leadership Award

MCLEAN, Va., and YARMOUTH, Maine—The Monitoring Association (TMA) and Security Systems News (SSN) have announced that the application period for the third annual TMA/SSN Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Leadership Award is now open.  

The goal of the award, which was established in 2022, is to promote and foster a more inclusive workforce throughout the security industry. The award will be given to a company that demonstrates a commitment to DEI policies and programs across its organization.  

The Monitoring Association“Awareness of the value of diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives is growing, and companies across the security industry are demonstrating a commitment to building an inclusive workspace and culture,” said Celia T. Besore, CEO, TMA. “As companies look to reach and attract new employees, leaders are taking a more active interest in the benefits that an inclusive team brings to the overall company and, ultimately, its bottom line. It is an exciting time, and TMA is pleased to join with Security Systems News to recognize those companies that are leading the way.” 

Kimberlite Corp. won the inaugural DEI Leadership Award in 2022, with Telguard claiming top honors in 2023. The 2024 award will be presented in person at the TMA Annual Meeting set for Oct. 5-9 at The Westin Beach at Frenchman’s Reef, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands.  

As part of the awards process, participating companies and nominated companies will be asked to deploy the TMA/SSN DEI Employee Assessment Survey to their employees. The web-based survey has about 40 questions covering eight facets of DEI practice within an organization. Companies will receive only a summary report without individual responses. 

Companies will also be asked to submit one to four "Shared Success Examples" of how their organization implements DEI-related activities in the following areas of focus: 

·       Workforce diversity 

·       Multicultural outreach 

·       Community involvement 

TMA welcomes entries from both members and non-member companies. Non-member companies must have the sponsorship of a TMA member to enter. Companies interested in applying for the award can click here to begin the process. 

The entry deadline is Aug. 30, 2024. 

Complete details are available on the TMA website at


To comment on this post, please log in to your account or set up an account now.